Stephen F. Austin State University

Fostering Academic and Co-Curricular Innovation

Fostering Academic & Co-Curricular Innovation

Goal 2

To respond to the realities of higher education today and to serve the needs of students tomorrow, we must foster both academic and co-curricular innovation. To facilitate this imperative, several working teams are currently investigating initial strategies in areas that emerged during the strategic planning process. As the plan matures additional strategies will emerge and be explored by teams of faculty, staff and students.

Recommendations Implemented

Current Strategy Teams

Student Internships

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Jamie Bouldin Center for Career and Professional Development (Co-Team Leader)
Candis Carraway Agriculture (Co-Team Leader)
Derek Cegelka Kinesiology & Health Science/Faculty Senate
Mitch Crocker Business
Loretta Doty Human Resources
Casey Hart Mass Communication
Cleo House Theatre
Liz Hutchison Computer Science
Lynda Martin Human Sciences
Brian Murphy Liberal & Applied Arts
Adam Peck Student Affairs
Larissa Philpott Nacogdoches Economic Development Corporation

Student Mentoring

Team List
Name Office/Department
Chay Runnels Human Sciences (Co-Team Leader)
Lacey Folsom Student Engagement Programs (Co-Team Leader)
Brandy Bishop Forestry & Agriculture
Linda Black Secondary Education & Educational Leadership
Leslie Cecil Anthropology, Geography, & Sociology
Carolyn Conn Theatre/Faculty Senate
Marc Guidry Liberal & Applied Arts
Chelsea Heidbrink Student Success Center
Shea Roll Residence Life
Steven Whitman Campus Recreation

Past Strategy Teams (Recommendations Finalized)

Affordability and Student Debt: Instructional Materials

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Lauren Burrow Elementary Education (Co-Team Leader)
Edward Iglesias Ralph W. Steen Library (Co-Team Leader)
Joey Bray Agriculture
Esther Campbell Barnes & Noble Campus Bookstore
Ashley Hall Business Communication & Legal Studies
Chelsea Heidbrink Student Success Center
Paul Henley Office of Student Learning & Institutional Assessment
Janet Kamps Center for Teaching & Learning
Herbert Midgley Music/Faculty Senate
Louise Stoehr Languages, Cultures, & Communication/Faculty Senate
Kimberly Verhines SFA Press
Courtney Wooten English

Teaching & Learning Advancement

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Mary Smith Center for Teaching & Learning (Team Leader)
Lauren Brewer Psychology/Faculty Senate
Cala Coats Art
Randi Cox History
Jenny Gumm Biology
Shelby Laird Forestry and Agriculture
Anjum Najmi Ralph W. Steen Library
Heather Olson Beal Secondary Education & Educational Leadership
Nikki Shoemaker Accounting
Megan Weatherly Center for Teaching & Learning

Affordability and Student Debt: Financial Literacy

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Todd Brown Nelson Rusche College of Business (Team Leader)
Brandi Derouen Career and Professional Development
Lacey Folsom Student Affairs
Steve Kosovich Economics & Finance/Faculty Senate
Mi-Kayla Lemon Student Representative
Gloria Montes SFA 101
Kristan Smith Financial Aid

Co-Curricular Innovation

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Hollie Smith Student Affairs (Team Leader)
Tamey Anglley Music
Nina Ellis-Hervey Human Services
Lauren Gonzalez Elementary Education
Nicholas Long Mathematics and Statistics
Rob McDermand Athletics
Emily Payne Agriculture
Jason Reese Management, Marketing, & International Business/Faculty Senate
Janie Richardson Library
Jamal Smith Orientation Programs
Ty Spradley Languages, Cultures, and Communication
Veronica Weaver Multicultural Affairs, Student Affairs Programs
Amanda Windham Student Engagement, Student Affairs Programs

Career Development Integration

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Adam Peck Student Affairs (Co-Team Leader)
Leslie Cecil Anthropology, Geography, and Sociology (Co-Team Leader)
Daniel Anguiano Art
Jamie Bouldin Forestry and Agriculture
Brandi Derouen Career Services
Korey Kahler Computer Science
Carla Murgia Kinesiology and Health Science
Ann Wilson College of Business

University College Exploration [Recommendations Finalized - Student Success Center]

Files & Minutes
Team List
Name Office/Department
Dana Cooper Academic Affairs (Co-Team Leader)
Adam Peck Student Affairs (Co-Team Leader)
Mark Barringer History
Tim Clipson SFA 101
Ken Collier Government
Keith Hubbard Mathematics & Statistics
Debbie Kiesel Advising
Mike Martin English
Matt McBroom Forestry and Agriculture
M.E. McWilliams Academic Assistance Resource Center
John Moore Chemistry
Debbie Pace College of Sciences and Mathematics
Scott Shattuck Chairs Forum
Michael Tkacik School of Honors
Janet Tareilo Perkins College of Education
Michael Walker Student Affairs
Ann Wilson Rusche College of Business