Skip to main content

View the 2022 URC Top Scholars and Finalists

Tuesday, April 11, 2023
Presentations from 4 to 7 p.m.
Twilight Ballroom and Theater in the Baker Pattillo Student Center
Deadline to submit: February 3, 2023

SFA's Undergraduate Research Conference is an annual competition that celebrates excellence in undergraduate scholarship among the East Texas community. Spanning a range of disciplines, the URC showcases the work of undergraduate scholars from SFA’s six colleges as well as other East Texas area institutions of higher education. The event features presentations and performances by seven top undergraduate scholars in addition to a diverse poster presentation by student finalists. Submissions are evaluated and chosen by a committee of university professors.

College Representatives

Arthur Temple College of Forestry and Agriculture

Dr. David Kulhavy
Laurence Walker Professor of Forestry

College of Fine Arts

Lauren B. Selden
Professor of Art, School of Art

James I. Perkins College of Education

Dr. Sarah Straub
Assistant Professor, Education Studies

College of Liberal and Applied Arts

Dr. Leslie Cecil
Professor of Anthropology

Nelson Rusche College of Business

Dr. Ryan Phelps
Associate Professor of Economics

College of Sciences and Mathematics

Dr. Alyx Frantzen
Associate Professor of Chemistry


Executive Committee, SFA Undergraduate Research Conference

Dr. Michael Tkacik

Dr. Leslie Cecil

Dr. Eric Jones