Stephen F. Austin State University
Faculty Senate Agenda – Meeting #499
Wednesday, September 4, 2024, 2:30 p.m. CST

Resources for Meeting

Call to Order (Chakravartty) I.

- A. Present
- B. Absent (no proxy):

Senator	Present	Absent	Proxy
Kidd, Rebecca (ATCOFA)	X		
Payne, Emily (ATCOFA)	X		
Thompson, Leland (ATCOFA)		X	
Chakravartty, Arye (CLAA) *Chair	X		
Bentley, Lisa (CLAA)	X		
Conlon, Kyle (CLAA)	X		
Hampton, Hunter (CLAA)	X		
Hoagland, Ericka (CLAA)	X		
Khan, Mohammad (CLAA)	X		
Stoehr, Louise (CLAA)	X		
Welsh, Tyler (CLAA)	X		
Barngrover, Brian (CSM)	X		
Klein, Michelle (CSM) *Treasurer	X		
Bloxson, Julie (CSM)	X		
Bruck, Jason (CSM) *Chair-Elect	X		
Martynova-Van Kley, Alexandra (CSM)	X		
Sengupta, Bidisha (CSM)	X		
Barrios, Todd (PCOE)	X		
Cantu, Jennifer (PCOE)	X		
Chelette, Amber (PCOE)	X		

Faragó, Flóra (PCOE)	X	
Straub, Sarah (PCOE) *Secretary	X	
Kennon, Lindsey (PCOE)	X	
Midgley, Herbert (CFA) *Parliamentarian	X	
Ajero, Mario (CFA)	X	
Hoss-Jameson, Haley (CFA)	X	
Walburn, Jacob (CFA)	X	
Kaiser, David (NRCB)	X	
McKenna, Chris (NRCB)	X	
Mishra, Rajat (NRCB)	X	
Li, Wenjing (NRCB)	X	

II. Presentations

- A. Neal Weaver, President Not present
- B. Lorenzo Smith, Provost Not present
- C. Megan Weatherly
 - 1. OER/Z-Course Conversation
 - 2. Need to develop a Stakeholder Committee to align with legislation (Fall 2024 workload with Spring launch)
 - 3. Faculty expressed some COI with the Bookstore; IP concerns; opportunity for textbook *optional* as Z-Course; reinforced the ownership of faculty on curriculum
 - 4. Next steps: What PDs would need to be provided? Request to share information on grant-funded support for curriculum redesign
 - 5. Interested in this conversation? Contact Megan Weatherly (Committee formed by Provost Department with faculty representation)

D. Sarah Drake - UTS NTT Summer Meeting

- 1. UTS push towards "instructional faculty" or "professional track faculty" and in policy as "all full-time faculty"
- 2. UTS push for lecturers to move to 5:5 load
- 3. Faculty expressed concern about diversity in workload requirements across Colleges for NTT; NTT cannot access travel/research funds from ORGS currently this is an issue for certain NTT faculty where research is either *encouraged* or *required*
- 4. NOTE: Workload Policy is up for review and this will be a consideration (teaching including class sizes, research, service, professional development)
- E. Staff Council Representative Ryan Dietrich
 - 1. Shared information on elections results
 - 2. Kick Off Meeting at end of September
 - 3. Meeting schedule to be finalized
 - 4. Priorities: Staff salaries, translation network
- F. Transition to Senate business session (faculty only)

- III. Approval of minutes from meetings #498
 - A. Motion to accept by [Kennon]; 2nd [Stoehr]
 - B. Motion passes
- IV. Officer Reports
 - A. Chair (Chakravartty)
 - B. Chair Elect (Bruck)
 - 1. Reviewed HOP 02-101 (Academic Unit Heads)
 - 2. Reviewed HOP 03-405 (Faculty Compensation)
 - a) Push to contest this fall
 - 3. Reviewed HOP 02-321 (Predatory Journals)
 - a) Will be reviewed this fall
 - b) NRCB has a policy that they developed last year (not related to T&P)
 - 4. Reviewed HOP 00-000 (Phased Faculty Retirement)
 - C. Secretary (Straub)
 - 1. https://namedrop.io/
 - 2. Website Review
 - 3. Meeting Dates
 - 4. Update to <u>Committees</u> will be made post meeting
 - 5. Standing Rules will be updated on website as well
 - D. Treasurer (Klein)
 - 1. No report
 - E. Committee Reports
 - 1. Internal Committees
 - a) **Academic Affairs:** Bidisha Sengupta*, Flóra Faragó, Tyler Welsh, Amber Chelette, Brian Barngrover, Todd Barrios, Muhammad Khan
 - b) Administration and Finance: Michelle Klein, David Kaiser, Lisa Bentley, Leland C. Thompson, Kyle Conlon, Jacob Walburn

 (1) Chair needs to be determined
 - c) Elections: Mario Ajero*, Alexandra Martynova-Van Kley, Wenjing Li
 - d) University Operating Policy Committee: Tori Wagner-Greene*, Jason Bruck, Chris McKenna, Emily Payne, Louise Stoehr, Haley Hoss-Jameson
 - e) **Professional Welfare:** Julie Bloxson*, Rajat Mishra* (co-chair), Mario Ajero, Rajat Mishra, Kyle Conlon, Jennifer Cantu
 - f) **Strategic Planning Committee**: Jason Bruck*, Arye Chakravartty, Chris McKenna, Herb Midgley*
 - g) **Communication Committee:** Hunter Hampton*, Sarah Straub, Ericka Hoagland, Lindsey Kennon
 - 2. University Committees Reports from Faculty Senate Representative
 - a) **Distance Education:** (Herb Midgley*, Tyler Welsh, Sarah Straub, Lindsey Kennon)
 - b) Student Wellness Task Force: (TBD*)
 - c) **Staff Council Representative:** (Chair-Elect Ryan Dietrich, Chair Brittany Beck)
 - (1) Rotation within Communications Committee organized by Hunter Hampton
 - d) Grad Council: (Chair of Academic Affairs Committee, ex officio)
 - e) Core Curriculum Assessment: (Chair of Academic Affairs Committee, ex officio)
 - f) Summer Policy (HOP) Committee (Jason Bruck*, Sarah Straub, Gina FeCausin, Mario Ajero, Arye Chakravarrty, Chris McKenna)

- (1) <u>AAHC (Academic Affairs HOP Committee)</u> Review Summer 2024
- g) Ad Hoc Collegiality Committee (Tyler Welsh*, Alexandra Van Kley, Kyle Conlon)
- V. Old Business
- VI. New Business
 - A. Question about Faculty Senate representation in RAC or URC Question for Dr. Lane
 - B. Senate priorities for this year are faculty salaries and workload policy.
 - C. Presence at Dr. Weaver's Town Halls will be critical. Note dates and plan to attend.
 - D. Chris McKenna presentation on "AIR" (discussion on Academics, Instruction, and Research output at SFA versus the percentage of AA funding).
 - E. Let Herb know if you are in need of a plaque change/edit.
 - F. Email Arye to add anything to the agenda. Keep an eye on TEAMS for documents, updates, minutes, etc.

VII. Adjournment

- A. Motion: 1st [Jason Bruck], 2nd [Chris McKenna]
- B. Motion passes
- C. Meeting adjourned at 4:47 p.m.