Dr. Ronnie G. Barra

Dr. Ronnie G. Barra, retired kinesiology and health science professor, passed away July 23 in Nacogdoches. Barra received his master’s degree from SFA in 1964 and taught at the university for 46 years. He also served in the U.S. Marine Corps. As a professor, Barra formed lasting connections with many students and colleagues. He was a founding father of the Noon Ball Association, a basketball game for faculty members that started in the 1970s and is still held every Monday, Wednesday and Friday on campus. Even after his SFA retirement, Barra continued to be a participant in the games. .


Dr. Frank L. Brister Jr.

Dr. Frank L. Brister Jr., former SFA professor of speech-language pathology, passed away Oct. 8. Brister served in the U.S. Marine Corps from 1959 to 1965. He later moved to Nacogdoches to teach at the university and served as director of audiological services. Brister was a lifelong Rotarian, serving as Rotary Club of Nacogdoches president from 1998-99 and as secretary from 2000-18. He was the longest-serving club secretary. The club named him secretary emeritus in 2018.


Roy E. Bush

Born in Amarillo, Roy E. Bush, who passed away Aug. 13, grew up in Childress. He excelled in track and football, earning All-District in 1947-48. Bush received football scholarships from Tulane University, Trinity University and Texas A&M University. He also played football at the United States Military Academy. Bush later enrolled at SFA, where he received his bachelor’s degree in mathematics in 1957.

After serving his country in the U.S. Navy, Bush joined Conoco Egypt as a vice president, managing drilling operations in Louisiana, Egypt and Italy.


Dr. John P. Decker

Dr. John P. Decker, professor emeritus of physics and astronomy, passed away Aug. 11. Decker served in the U.S. Army during World War II in Southern France and later during the occupation of Germany. After the war, he returned to college and completed his education.

Decker moved to Nacogdoches in 1965, where he served as chairman of SFA’s physics department until his retirement. During his time as department chairman, Decker assisted in the design of the Miller Science Building. He also worked to help establish the astronomy program at SFA. He was instrumental in obtaining a large amount of government surplus equipment for the department, which was used by students and faculty members in research labs and classrooms.


Herman “Moe” Litton

Former Lumberjack football letterman Herman “Moe” Litton passed away Oct. 14.

Litton joined the U.S. Navy during World War II at the age of 17 and served on the USS Brush in the Pacific. After returning home from the war, Litton attended SFA, where he played football. He received his bachelor’s degree in 1954 and master’s degree in 1956.

Litton enjoyed a long career in coaching and athletic training. In 1999, he was inducted into the Southeast Texas Coaches Hall of Honor, and in 2012, he was honored as a Distinguished Alumnus from SFA.


Dewain Ray Robberson

Dewain Ray Robberson, retired manager of building trades and mechanical maintenance for SFA’s physical plant, passed away July 28.

Robberson, who served in the U.S. Navy, received his bachelor’s degree from SFA in 2016. He was employed by the university for more than 15 years, earning numerous awards, including the prestigious President’s Award. In spring 2015, Robberson was honored as the Mystery Dipper during SFA’s Big Dip Ceremony and received an SFA ring with “Mentor for Life” inscribed inside. In addition, he established the Lumberjack for Life Award, which recognizes an SFA graduate or student by presenting him or her with a class ring.

Robberson was a proud member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local Union.


Joe Orville Todd

Joe Orville Todd, who graduated from SFA in 1947, passed away Aug. 12. Todd transferred to SFA in fall 1941 to run track. When the attack on Pearl Harbor occurred, Todd immediately enlisted to serve in the military.

Todd was a staff sergeant and forward observer with his unit, receiving a Bronze Star, two Oak Leaf Clusters and numerous citations. He was selected from the 913th Field Artillery Battalion as its most outstanding enlisted man, seeing more front-line action in Italy than any other individual in the battalion. After the war ended, Todd returned to SFA in 1946 to complete his education.

Todd served as president of both the senior class and the Sawyers Social Club. He was named senior class favorite and was active in athletics. He later enjoyed a long career with Henderson Clay Products.

Todd was honored as SFA’s Outstanding Alumnus in 1981, and he served for many years on the SFA Alumni Association Board of Directors.

In Memoriam

Name Class Hometown Date
Virginia C. Adams donor and friend of SFA Jasper Sept. 7
Holley Anderson SFA Student Fort Worth Oct. 30
Bernard Benson Athey Jr. 1953 Dallas Jan. 6
Fritz Alexander Beckworth 2015 Duncanville June 29, 2017
Rhonda J. Billiot 1989 Nacogdoches July 19
Penny Borges 1974 Austin June 22
James W. Brake 1953 Nacogdoches July 12
Atholene S. Brewster 1974 Houston July 26
Susan K. Bryan 1972 Lufkin Aug. 20
Noamie R. Byrum 1968 & 1970 Zionsville, Indiana Sept. 4
Nina E. Cole 2004 Fort Worth July 29
Anna Lee Sterling Cooley 1970 & 1973 Kilgore July 28
Lynn Cooper 1974 Carthage June 2
Nena M. Davis 1950 Kirbyville July 11
Robert W. Dunlap 1972 & 1983 Glenpool, Oklahoma July 25
William D. Flores 1954 Las Cruces, New Mexico June 27
Wyannie C. Flowers 1961 Sammamish, Washington Aug. 17
Donald R. Floyd 1982 Bay City July 9
Clarence Eugene Fountain 1983 Longview Sept. 21
Susan Fountain 2006 Center June 8
Mark D. Garfield 1973 Houston Aug. 9
Phil Goodrum Jr. 1972 Nacogdoches Aug. 31
Lloyd B. Goolsby 1959 & 1966 Timpson June 8
Bettye I. Hall 1970 & 1977 Henderson June 5
Ima Christine Eaves Honeycutt 1957 Crockett Jan. 1, 2015
David A. Hughes former SFA coach Bella Vista, Arkansas Aug. 12
Ronald D. Johns 1963 Gilmer Sept. 17
Christopher Alan Legg 1982 Katy Aug. 24
Patricia Ann Little donor and friend of SFA Whitesboro June 10
Audrey Faye Ballow Mackey 1955 & 1959 Gladewater July 25
Charlotte McClanahan 1955 Waco July 30
Raymond G. McCormack 1967 Austin July 7
Phillip E. Morris 1963 Lufkin Aug. 18
Larry D. Morrison 1969 Nacogdoches July 12
Jesse Lee Franklin Nickerson III 1971 Paris July 19
Frances Davis Peavy 1939 & 1960 Lufkin June 26
Gerald Pickett 1958 Kingwood Jan. 3
Jennifer E. Randolph 1992 Henderson Aug. 28
Abigail Emily Rivera 2012 Midland June 18
Cecil Jeri Roach former SFA student-athlete Bullard July 19
Jan B. Scarborough 1982 Kingwood June 29
Vici A. Sheaffer 1990 Corpus Christi July 7
Judy K. Skelton 1984 Etoile Sept. 4
Travis W. Slaughter 1969 Dallas Sept. 9
Clyde Floyd Small 1971 Jacksonville Aug. 22
Jan C. Stevens 1988 Houston July 14
Joe B. Strong 1950 Nacogdoches May 30
Kay B. Stuart 1982 Houston Aug. 26
Adejumoke V. Sule 2013 Spring June 2
Crystal C. Symmank 2004 Palestine Aug. 1
Donna J. Templeton 1976 Midland July 30
Daniel L. Thomas 1988 Houston June 20
Barbara L. Thompson-Myles 1978 Galveston Aug. 2
Sharabeth Upton 1994 Henderson July 10
Jimmy D. Wells 1974 Nacogdoches June 5