Deans Council May 1, 2019

1. Family Weekend

Jamal Smith

Jamal introduced some changes to "Family Weekend" previously called Parents Day, scheduled September 20-22. This year trying to include more events during the day and would like open day on Friday held in each college. The deans asked about funding, Jamal explained that all funding came from sponsorship. Liz Roshell also provided more details. It was agreed a representative from each college would join the committee overseeing this event.

2. Electronic Accessibility

Anthony Espinoza

Anthony introduced a number of the Electronic Accessibility Team members to explain their charge and give an update. The State of Texas requires that everyone has the same electronic access to all documents, and therefore it is necessary to make everything accessible to everyone. He also explained there will be a prohibition of software on p-cards beginning this summer, to aid in this task, any questions can be sent to raccessibility@sfasu.edu Dr. Bullard asked the deans to share this information with chairs. Jared Roten was introduced at the Accessibility Coordinator.

3. SFA 101 Brittney Fish

Brittney Fish has been leading SFA101 since fall 2018 and gave an update to the deans. She reported that SFA101 will be 25 years old this fall but there is room for growth. Brittney explained that students who take SFA101 have higher retention rates and are more successful. She will be introducing an SFA101 open classroom initiative, where faculty can sit in. Looking at ways to get colleges and departments involved.

4. Policies Kim Childs

Dr. Childs explained that the faculty workload policy needs to be reviewed by the deans. After discussion it was agreed to keep the policy simple and put more detail in procedure. The policy committee only meeting twice more this year so we need to get this done, Dr. Childs has had input from Damon Derrick.

Student Records (2.10)

Comprehensive Scholarship Administration (3.31)

Library Gifts (4.11.3)

Advanced Placement Guidelines (6.5)

Military Service Activation (6.14)

Second Baccalaureate Degrees (6.18)

Academic Freedom and Responsibility (7.3)

Faculty Merit Pay (7.6)

Misconduct in Scholarly or Creative Activities (7.19)

Performance Evaluation of Faculty (7.22)

Regents Professor (7.24)

Texas Comprehensive Research Fund (8.10)

All policies were discussed and approved by deans council, they will be sent for board approval in July.

5. SACS Graduate program rigor

Pauline Sampson

Dr. Sampson requested we post graduate syllabi online as we do with the undergraduate, we must show a difference in rigor. Now using Nuventive, we need to have different learning outcomes for graduate in readiness for SACS reaffirmation. Dr. Sampson will reach out to all the graduate coordinators and also involve John Calahan and Paul Henley.

6. Proposed changes with faculty recognition

Steve Bullard

This will be discussed at a future meeting and in the meantime a recommendation for some changes will be emailed to the deans for their consideration.

7. Adjunct contract and Orientation

Marc Guidry

Our legal office is working on a new adjunct contract, adjunct training will also be introduced this year. Adjuncts will also be required to attend orientation every long semester. This would be for ALL adjuncts.

8. Update on board meeting

Steve Bullard

Dr. Bullard reported that Karen Gaunt is the new chair of academic & student affairs.

9. Any Other Business

David Alders had requested information on local connections which had been provided to him before the board meeting, more specific details are required and Sharon will be contacting the deans regarding this.

Dr. Guidry has been in contact with our Austin liaison Charlotte Sullivan who confirms that transferability is a major issue being discussed in legislature.

Dr. Bullard announced an leadership alignment, Mary Smith will be moving to ITS to head up the classroom technology initiative.

10. Date of Next Meeting

June 5, 2019

Attendees:
Shirley Dickerson
Jonathan Helmke
Brian Murphy
Marc Guidry
Kim Childs
Hans Williams
Pauline Sampson
Judy Abbott
Janet Tareilo

Tim Bisping
Buddy Himes
Anthony Espinoza
Damon Derrick
Kirsty Dymond
Jamal Smith
Liz Roshell
Meredith Bailey
Jared Roten (EAC)
Kirsty Dymond
Damon Derrick

Jamie Weaver Brittney Fish